HOLLYWOODBETS MURRAY CUP CLUB RUGBY WEDNESDAY COLUMN: For College Rovers and SA Home Loans Durban Collegians its a case of ‘play it again Sam’ as they once again have made it through to the final of the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup Final on Sunday after victories over Westville Old Boys and Varsity College respectively last Saturday at the home of Bidvest Insurance Crusaders in Durban North. In the opening semi final it was one-way traffic as last years champions College Rovers went on the rampage scoring 14 tries to one in their 86-5 … [Read more...]

KZN Rugby presents the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup – Featured Durban Blog

KZN Rugby presents the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup: Hollywoodbets are now title sponsors of the oldest knockout rugby competition in World Rugby, the Murray Cup. Founded in 1890, the Murray Cup is the oldest knockout rugby competition in World Rugby, and the 2018 edition is set to kick off on Saturday the 4th of August. The knockout competition involves rugby clubs from around the KwaZulu-Natal province, with the first round of matches seeing the top tier teams squaring off against the so-called second-tier club rugby teams. Siseko Jafta, the KZN … [Read more...]

New Sponsor for Murray Cup – Featured Durban Blog

New Sponsor for Murray Cup: One of the oldest and most prestigious Club Rugby competitions in the world, the Murray Cup, has received the backing of a new title sponsor, Hollywoodbets. Hollywoodbets’ title sponsorship sees them receive naming rights for the tournament, which will now be known as the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup competition. Together with Hollywoodbets, the KZNRU is committed to further extending the appeal of this exciting tournament that dates back to 1890, when the then Union President Mr. T.K. Murray presented this cup to be … [Read more...]

THE MURRAY CUP – Featured Durban Blog

THE MURRAY CUP: When one looks back to our rugby history in the province, the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union (KZNRU) can be very proud of its achievements and indeed our heritage. No other tournament in KZN speaks more aptly to this proud heritage than that of the Murray Cup, which was founded in 1890, and which over the years has continued to prove its prestige and relevance in the hearts of the most die-hard rugby fans in our province. The Murray Cup is named after Sir TK Murray, who was appointed in June 1890 as the first President of a newly … [Read more...]